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Maternity and Parental Leave Policy 
 
I. Purpose 

This policy establishes uniform procedures for managing maternity and parental 
leaves in Montana state government.  This policy also outlines prohibited 
employment practices in relation to maternity leave. 
 
II. Scope 

This policy Parental leave covers Montana’s executive branch employees, except 
those employed by the Montana State Fund, the Montana university system, 
student interns, short-term workers, elected officials, the personal appointed staff of 
elected officials, and other employees exempt from policy under 2-18-103, -104, 
and -601(6), MCA. 
Maternity leave must beAgency management shall extended maternity leave to all 
female employees meeting the definition of employee as defined in 49-2-101, 
MCA,. and follow this policy unless it conflicts with a collective bargaining 
agreement, which will take precendence to the extent applicable. 
Agencies must follow the provisions of this policy unless they conflict with collective 
bargaining agreements, which will take precedence to the extent applicable. 
 
III.  Procedures 

A. Leave Types 

B. III. Procedures 

1. Maternity leave is an unpaid leave of absence available to female 
employees for pregnancy, childbirth, or medical conditions related to 
pregnancy or childbirth.temporary disability because of pregnancy and 
delivery.   

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/2/18/2-18-103.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/2/18/2-18-104.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/2/18/2-18-601.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/49/2/49-2-101.htm


 

2. Parental leave is an unpaid leave of absence not to exceed 15 working days 
available to birth fathers and mothers or permanent employees who are 
adopting a child. 

Eligible employees taking maternity or parental leave concurrently with and eligible 
for leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) leave must follow the 
FMLA Leave.  The FMLA Leave Policy takes precedence over this policy. 
 
C.B. Requesting Leave 

1. Employees must request maternity or parental leave according to the 
procedures established by their agency.  Employees should give at least a 
30-day advance oral or written notice of the need to take leave or as soon as 
practical when advance notice is not possible. 
 

1. Agency management may establish procedures for the request and approval 
of leave in compliance with this policy.  The leaveLeave requests should 
include the anticipated length of absence and the employee’s intended use 
of accrued paid leave while on maternity or parental leave. 

 
2. Employees shall request maternity or parental leave according to their 

agency’s established procedures and give management a 30-day advance 
notice of the need for leave.  Employees shall notify management as soon as 
practical when advance notice is not possible.  The notice may be oral or 
written. 

 
D.C. Maternity- Leave Use 

1. Montana law requires empoyers to grant female employees receive a 
reasonable leave of absence for pregnancy maternity leave (49-2-310, 
MCA).  “Reasonable” is determined case-by-case and is based upon the 
employee’s ability to perform her job.  Montana’s executive branch 
recognizes six weeks as a reasonable leave of absence for recovery 
following childbirth.  Any leave taken prior to childbirth, whether paid or 
unpaid, because of a medical condition related to pregnancy, will not count 
against this six-week period.In the case of normalfor pregnancy and delivery, 
agency management must grant a minimum of six calendar weeks after the 
birth of a child as a reasonable period for recovery. Leave may be longer if 
the employee is unable to perform her job prior to delivery or if there are 
complications like illness or surgical delivery.  If the agency and the 
employee cannot agree on a reasonable period for maternity leave, agency 
management should rely on the judgment of the employee's medical 
provider. 
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2. Agency management may request medical certification when an employee 
requests leave for a health-related condition during pregnancy. 

3. Management may not require medical certification for the initial six calendar 
weeks of leave following childbirth.   

1.4. Agency management may extend marternity leave beyond six weeks 
following childbirth if an employee cannot perform her job duties because of 
medical complications associated with childbirth or a medical condition 
related to childbirth. 

2.5. An employee shall not be required to obtain medical certification of a 
temporary disability for the initial six calendar weeks of leave following the 
birth of a child.  However, agencyAgency management may require an the 
employee to provide medical certification to extend the maternity leave 
beyond the minimum six-calendar-week period.  The certification should 
state that the employee is unable to perform her employment duties and give 
the estimated duration of the extended leave.The employee is responsible 
for providing timely, complete, and sufficient medical certification.  Employee 
The employee must provide complete and sufficient medical the certification 
within 15 calendar days following after the agency’s request, unless it is not 
practicable to do so despite an employee’s diligent, good-faith efforts.  The 
certification must state the employee is unable to perform her employment 
duties because of a medical condition related to childbirth and give the 
estimated duration of the extended leave.  

3.6. Agency managers should may not ask employees probing questions 
regarding about their employee’s medical condition that mayto avoid eliciting 
genetic information about an employee or an employee’s family members.  
See the Non-Discrimination EEO Policy (ARM 2.21.4001 et seq.) and the 
Sick Leave Policy for further guidance.  Refer to Equal Employment 
Opportunity (EEO), Nondiscrimination, and Harrasment Provention Policy 
Rule 2.21.4009 for more information.  

4.7. Nothing in this policy prohibits an employee from voluntarily returning to work 
sooner earlier than six calendar weeks after the birth of a child. 

E.D. Parental Leave Use 

1. Parental leave is available toAgency managers shall allow birth fathers and 
mothers and immediately following a child’s birth or to permanent employees 
who are adopting a child a reasonable leave of absence immediately 
following birth or placement of a child with the employee for adoption (2-18-
606, MCA).  This statutory provision only applies to permanent employees of 
Montana state government. 

Maternity and Parental Leave Policy Page 3 of 8 

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/2/18/2-18-606.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/2/18/2-18-606.htm


 

2. Agency management must approve a reasonable leave of absence not to 
exceed 15 working days for parental leave immediately following the birth of 
a child or placement of a child with the employee for adoption. 

3. Agency management may approve less than 15 working days if they 
determine the length of leave requested is unreasonable.  Agency 
management must provide the employee a written response explaining why 
the request is unreasonable.  The written notice must also include the length 
of leave considered reasonable and approved. 

2. A reasonable leave of absence is at least 15 working days and may be 
longer with management approval. 

4.3. An agencyAgency management may require documentation for the use of 
parental leave.  For example,Management may, for example, require a birth 
father may need to provide a birth certificate or another document identifying 
him as the birth father.  Documentation fromLikewise, management may 
require an adoptive parent may include, but is not limited to,to provide an 
affidavit of intent to adopt or another agreement indicating a child’s 
placement for adoption. 

F. Accrued Paid Leave Use 

1. Both maternity and parental leaves are unpaid.  However, employees may 
use accrued paid leave concurrently with maternity or parental leave.  
Employees must request the use of additional leave consistent with state and 
agency policy applicable to the type of leave requested.  

2. Agencies may also require employees to use accrued sick leave, annual 
leave, compensatory time, or other accrued paid leave concurrently with 
maternity or parental leave.  

3. State law limits the use of sick leave to 15 days for birth fathers and adoptive 
parents (2-18-606, MCA) unless the absence qualifies for the use of sick 
leave for another reason. 

G.E. Concurrent FMLA Leave 

1. Eligible employeesEmployees eligibile for FMLA leave may take up to 12 
weeks of unpaid FMLA leave for the birth of a child or placement of a child 
with the employee for foster care or adoption of a child.  Maternity and 
parental leave run concurrently with FMLA leave. Agency management 
should count maternity and parental leave towards an eligible employee's 
FMLA-leave entitlement.  Employees may not use maternity or parental 
leave to extend the length of FMLA-leave entitlements.  FMLA leave 
generally runs concurrently with other forms of paid leave (sick, 
compensatory, annual) or unpaid (maternity, parental) leaves. 
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2. Employees eligible for FMLA leave shall use 20 hours of sick leave a week 
concurrently with FMLA leave if the employee’s absence qualifies for sick 
leave under this policy or the state’s Sick Leave Policy.  

3. While state law limits a birth mother’s use of sick leave to “maternity or 
pregnancy-related disability or treatment,” eligible employees may use an 
additional six weeks of unpaid FMLA leave for bonding with a newborn child, 
which may run concurrently with other forms of paid leave.  For example, if a 
full-time employee is eligible for leave under the FMLA policy and gives birth, 
maternity leave shall run concurrently with FMLA leave for up to six weeks 
immediately following birth.  According to the FMLA policy, the employee 
shall use 20 hours of sick leave a week, if available, concurrently with unpaid 
maternity leave.  The employee may also opt to use other forms of paid 
leave (compensatory, annual vacation) concurrently with unpaid maternity 
leave and sick leave for up to six weeks following birth.  If the employee uses 
the full six weeks of maternity leave, she may use other forms of paid leave 
(compensatory, annual vacation) concurrently with unpaid FMLA for an 
additional six weeks within the 12-month period immediately following birth. 

4. Likewise, birth fathers or employees adopting a child may use available 
FMLA leave for bonding with a newborn or adopted child if they are eligible 
under the Family and Medical Leave Policy.  While state law limits the use of 
sick leave to 15 working days for parental leave, employees may use other 
forms of paid leave concurrently with FMLA leave. 

5. Leave used for prenatal care, bed rest, or other pregnancy-related disability 
or treatment, counseling or legal matters related to adoption or foster care, or 
for any other FMLA-qualifying event before the birth or adoption of a child 
counts towards an employee’s 12 weeks of FMLA leave entitlement 

6. Use of maternity or parental leave will not extend the length of an employee’s 
FMLA leave entitlement. 

1.7. The Family and Medical Leave Policy takes precedence over this policy.  
Agency management and the employee must shall follow all medical 
certification procedures and timelines required by the FMLA Family and 
Medical Leave Policy and federal FMLA regulations (29 CFR 825). 
 

F. Use of Accured Paid Leave During Unpaid Leaves 

1. Maternity and parental leaves are unpaid.  Use of accrued sick leave, 
compensatory time, or other accrued paid leave will run concurrently with a 
maternity or parental leave.  Employees may elect to use annual leave, but 
management cannot require use of annual leave during a maternity or 
parental leave. 
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2. During a maternity leave, birth mothers may not use more than six weeks of 
sick leave concurrently with maternity leave and FMLA leave (if eligible), 
unless management extends the employee’s leave beyond the initial six 
weeks for a medical reason.  Montana state law, under 2-18-601(15)(b)(ii), 
MCA, limits an employee’s use of sick leave to “maternity or pregnancy-
related disability or treatment, including prenatal care, birth or medical care 
for the employee or the employee’s child.” 

3. During a parental leave, state law limits an employee’s use of sick leave to 
15 working days for birth fathers and adoptive parents immediately following 
birth or adoption (2-18-606, MCA), unless the absence qualifies for the use 
of sick leave for another reason. 

H.G. Reinstatement 

Agency management shall reinstate an employee to the employee’s original 
position or an equivalent position with equivalent pay and accumulated longevity, 
retirement, and leave benefits Employees returning to work at the end of 
following a reasonable leave of absence for maternity or parental leave. must be 
reinstated to their original job or to an equivalent position with equivalent pay and 
accumulated longevity, retirement, and leave benefits.  

I.H. Payroll Records 

1. Agency management must shall maintain documentation for requests and 
use of maternity and or parental leaves as part of the employee’s permanent 
employment record. 

2. The central payroll office in the Department of Administration’s central payroll 
office maintains records of employee’s leave accrual and usage records for 
all Montana state government employees. 

J.I. Prohibited Acts 

1. As provided in 49-2-310, MCA, it is unlawful to: 

a. terminate an employee employment because of pregnancy, childbirth, or a 
medical condition related to pregnancy or childbirth; 

b. refuse to grant an the employee a reasonable leave of absence for the 
pregnancy, childbirth, or a medical condition related to pregnancy or 
childbirth; 

c. deny birth fathers or employees adopting children a reasonable leave of 
absence following birth or adoption; 

b.d. deny the an employee who is disabled as a result of pregnancy any 
compensation to which the employee is entitled as a  result of the 
accumulation of disability or leave or benefits for which the employee is 
entitled because of pregnancy, childbirth, or a medical condition related to 
pregnancy or childbirth accrued, provided that the employer requires the 
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disability to be verified by medical certification indicating the employee is 
not able to perform employment duties; or 

c.e. require an employee to take a mandatory maternity leave for an 
unreasonable length of time. 

 

IV. Resources 

A. Montana Code Annotated: 

1. Parental Leave for State Employees - 2-18-606, MCA. 

2. Maternity Leave - Unlawful Acts of Employers - 49-2-310, MCA. 

3. Reinstatement to Job Following Pregnancy-Related Leave of Absence - 49-
2-311, MCA. 

B. Federal Regulations and Enforcement Guidance: 

1. Family and Medical Leave Act - 29 CFR 825 

1.2. EEO Commission Enforcement Guidance on Pregnancy Discrimination and 
Related Issues 

C. State Policy 

1. Family and Medical Leave Act Policy - MOM 

1.2. Sick Leave Policy - MOM  

2.3. Equal Employment Opporuntiy (EEO), Nondiscrimination and Harrasment 
Prevention Non-Discrimination EEO Policy – ARM 2.21.4001 et seq. 

3.4. Annual Leave Policy - MOM 

4. Overtime and Non-Exempt Compensatory Time Policy  

5. Exempt Compensatory Time  

V. Definitions 

This policy includes all definitions under 2-18-601, MCA.  For the purposes of this 
policy, the  The following definitions also apply for the purposes of this policy: 
 
Birthfather:  The individual identified as the child’s father on a certificate issued at 
birth, on a document used to file for a birth certificate, or in a manner acceptable to 
the supervisor approving leave. 
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Immediately following:  The day a child is born or is physically transferred to the 
custody of the adoptive parent(s). 
 
Placement:  The transfer of physical custody of a child for adoption to the person(s) 
who intends to adopt the child. 
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